Our Council | Board of Directors | Girl Scouts of Southern Alabama
side menu icon

Board of Directors

Elected by delegates from the Council membership, 15 women and men serve on the Girl Scout Council of Southern Alabama Board of Directors. They establish policy, approve budgets, set direction for the Council and monitor progress.

Board Member Biographies

Carrie Gray Shaw - Chair

Carrie Shaw graduated from the University of Southern Mississippi with degrees in English and French. She attended law school at the University of Alabama where she participated in the Domestic Violence Law Clinic and interned during the summers at the Alabama Attorney General’s Office. She has been employed with the Montgomery County District Attorney’s Office since 2008, and served as the Violence Against Women prosecutor from 2009 to 2015. She now prosecutes street crime as a senior attorney for the office. She’s a member of First United Methodist Church in Montgomery; a board member of the Family Sunshine Center Board of Directors and the Girl Scouts of Southern Alabama Board of Directors; and she currently serves as President-Elect of the Montgomery Sunset Rotary Club and as a member of the Community Research Council and co-editor of League Lines for the Montgomery Junior League.

Christine Prewitt - Vice Chair

Christine D. Prewitt (Chris), 42d Mission Support Group Deputy Director, Maxwell AFB, has more than 38 years’ experience working for the United States Air Force.  In her current job, she assists the Commander in managing seven squadrons and 2000 military, civilian and contract personnel.

Chris came to the Air Force with a degree in Biology and started out as a lieutenant, communications-electronics officer. She was selected for pilot training and became the 50th female pilot in the Air Force.  She instructed in T-37s in Arizona and Texas and then moved to the Philippines to fly the C-9 medevac aircraft.  Assignments in Washington, DC, Germany, Minnesota included VIP airlift and commands of an airlift and a recruiting squadron. 

Montgomery, AL was the next stop after Chris was selected to attend Air War College.  Her family so enjoyed the area they purchased a home at Lake Martin which they continued to visit throughout the rest of her career.  Assignments to Illinois and Germany lengthened the commute until they returned to Maxwell AFB in 2003.  After running the Commanders’ School at Eaker Center and assisting as Adjunct Facility at Air War College, Colonel Prewitt retired in 2007. 

In October 2007, Chris was back at work in the International Officers’ School at Maxwell AFB and moved to her current position six months later.  She stays active in the community through her work with the Montgomery Zoo Board, and the Chamber’s Women in Business Panel.  

Chris and her husband Darwin have three grown children who live in Texas and Alabama.  

Elizabeth P. Braswell - Vice Chair

Elizabeth (Liz) graduated from Troy State University with a Bachelors Degree in Resource Management.  She graduated CBAA Banking School at Samford University and  ABA Banking School at the University of South Alabama. 

Liz has been with AmeriFirst Bank since 1989 and has worked in numerous capacities over the 25 years, most currently serving as Montgomery City President.

Liz has served on numerous committees and boards over the years including the BPW President in Union Springs, Bullock Memorial School Board of Directors,  Bullock Memorial School PTO President, The Montgomery Chamber of Commerce Board,  Chair of the Chamber of Commerce Women’s  Forum ,  Macon-East Montgomery Board of Directors and Pastor Parish Committee for Woodland Church and most recently Girl Scouts of Southern Alabama. Through the bank, she supports numerous charities including the Relay for Life for the Cancer Society, the MDA Lockup, Shamrocks and Girl Scouts!      

Karen Mixon - Secretary/Treasurer 

Karen received her Masters of Business Administration degree from Auburn University at Montgomery and received her Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration with a concentration in Finance from Troy University. She graduated from the Alabama Banking School in Mobile. Karen has more than 30 years of banking experience. Since 2004, she has been with Trustmark National Bank and has served in various capacities, most currently as the Vice President and Relationship Manager for the Montgomery market. For ten years, she served as an instructor for the American Institute of Banking/Center for Financial Training and was named State Instructor of the Year in 1999 and Montgomery Instructor for the Year in 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2002. Over the years, Karen has served on numerous committees and boards, including the Family Guidance Center, United Way Small Business Chairperson, Montgomery Area Food Bank, Family Sunshine Center’s, “Making Homes Safe Haven” fundraiser.

Members at Large                                       

Jerusha Adams            Elizabeth Citrin
Janie Corlee                  Christy Crow
Michael Cuesta            Carlos Gant   
Cheryl Johnson            Katie Lovvorn
Laura Searcy                Lyn Thornton
Tabatha White              Tara Zieman