Annual Gala A Success!


Girl Scouts of Southern Alabama hosted its 14th Annual Women of Distinction Awards Gala on March 10, 2009 at Arrowhead Country Club.  Over 150 attendees helped celebrate the honorees accomplishments and commitments to their community. 

 Honorees included Elizabeth Braswell, Tamara Cofield, Dr. Susan Diamond, Dee Gambill, Sue Herring Groce, Joy Grodnick, Dora James, Juanita Owes, Nancy Raia, Sarah Spear, Lisa Stephens and Virginia Thompson.  Young Women of Distinction honorees included Barbara B., Maria B., Haley E. and Leah N.  Girl Scout Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Yvonne Lee.

Highlights from the evening included a reception and silent auction before the awards dinner.  Ellen Brooks, board chair and longtime Girl Scout delivered the keynote address.  The mistress of ceremonies was WSFA-12 news anchor Tonya Terry.  The fabulous evening also included a live auction conducted by Auctioneer Johnny Mullins.   

Proceeds from the event support our Girl Leadership Development Program and provide financial assistance for girls who would not normally have the opportunity to participate. 

Special thanks to all our sponsors and volunteers who helped make the night a success!  See our special events page to view all the sponsors and the committee members who put on this wonderful event.



  • © 2006-2014 Girl Scouts of Southern Alabama, Inc. 1-800-239-6636. All Rights Reserved.

  • Join us on: